top of page
  • kcornejo28

Winter in Florence

Updated: Feb 16, 2023

Growing up in Hawaii, I always experienced nice, warm weather for Christmas celebrations. I haven't experienced a real winter until now. I usually do not like the cold, as I am not used to it, but being in Italy, during the winter months, made the holidays extra special. I got to really enjoy all the holiday lights hung up everywhere. Many restaurants and streets were decorated with sparkling and colorful lights. People started to hang up the lights in November, and it was so exciting. There were also musicians walking while playing holiday songs. My roommates and I spent our free time walking to Christmas markets. Florence has several holiday markets. All three of the markets were full of people. They served food, such as sausages, and pork. They also had many kiosks. The kiosks were filled with pastries, cookies and candies or little knickknacks. We ate sausages and drank vin brulé, which is hot wine. It was very delicious. We would eat, walk around and enjoyed the music. Another holiday market had a ferris wheel and an ice skating rink. My roommates and I also went to watch the Christmas tree lighting right in front of the Duomo. Many people gathered to watch and countdown for the lighting. We even made a holiday postcard together. Spending time with my friends during the holidays made this winter very special. Below are some of my favorite hanging lights and Christmas markets throughout Florence.



10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page