top of page
  • kcornejo28

Details of the Duomo

Updated: Feb 16, 2023


I decided to create a blog post just for the duomo, Italian for dome, of Florence because it is incredible. The real name of the cathedral is "Santa Maria del Fiore". This means "our lady of the flower". The first time I saw it, I had to stop and stare. I was fortunate to live in an apartment right in front of it. I sat by the window many times to just admire the beauty of the building. The outside of the cathedral has so many remarkable details. No wonder why it took around 140 years to build. It is also very famous because it has the biggest brick dome of the world. The dome alone took 16 years to complete. I waited in the long line to climb the 463 stairs up to the duomo. It was the hardest, but most rewarding hike I have ever done. From the top of the dome, you can see a view of the city of Florence. If you decide to do this, I recommend waiting in line around two or three in the afternoon. The lines are not as long. I would also recommend going up to the dome and bell tower on separate days, otherwise you will get an intense workout.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page